I’m not really an every day blogger. I often write when I’m excited about something. And since this is a healthy lifestyle blog, my posts generally coincide with when I’m loving my healthy lifestyle.

When I don’t post for long periods, then it usually means that I’ve fallen off the wagon or am struggling with my healthy lifestyle journey. It’s almost as if real life…the life that is going on while I’m focused on my health…jumps up and says, “hey! right here…no time to focus on all that now.”

It’s been 14 days since I last exercised. I have been eating more and more processed foods. I have been overeating.

So what’s going on?

Symptoms: anger, depression, boredom, stress, anxiety, feelings of exhaustion, alternating between feeling like I’m “starving” to not hungry at all, grasping, feeling like I just want to be alone and “in”…

So what is going on?

Rationalizations: I got a sinus infection, we had a death in the family (and it was surprising and will take time to accept and make peace with), work is hard and I’m feeling overwhelmed and under-supported…

Scripts: I’m not smart enough. I’m not professional enough. I’m not perfect. I can’t do this. I’m never going to succeed. I have so much to do, I don’t know how I’m ever going to get it all done. I’m a loser.

When those scripts are running through my head…they are very loud and very persistant. They lead to the symptoms I listed above.

Quieting those scripts or changing them seems impossible.

Flipping the script helps.

I’m a smart, professional who is capable of performing the assigned tasks. I am successful. I have a lot to do and will get it all done within the set deadline.

I need to repeat that a few times today. And tomorrow. And the next day. Until I feel motivated again.

In the mean time, I need to take a little time to do a detox. My midsummer detox will be from Thursday (tomorrow) thru Sunday evening.

Kim’s Doable Detox (following various sources, mainly the Quantum Wellness Cleanse without all the unfermented soy):

  • Clear diet of the following – alchol, caffeine, sugar, wheat, and dairy
  • Consume lots of clean water, veggies, fruit, wheat free whole grains (brown rice, quinoa, millet, steel-cut oats), and clean sources of protein – all of this will be organic
  • Some supplements
  • Physically – dry brush, steam/sauna, walking, yoga (restorative and meditative), meditation

Want to participate? If you’re in the neighborhood, perhaps we can do a yoga class or go for a walk together or even share a meal. If you’re long distance, maybe we can offer each other encouragement through email or chat.