Tags

, , , , , ,

I have been inspired by the Warrior poses of yoga. When I do them, I feel strong and capable and focused and determined. I feel like I can do anything.

In January of this year, I decided that I was truly going to change my life. This time.

This time I was going to reach my weight loss goal and achieve my optimal health. I did so well up through June. Then my motivation began to flag and by July, I had all but given up. Still, there was a whisper…a hint of determination that would not be silenced…who said, hang in there…now is not the time to quit the battle…now is the perfect time to dig in your heels and stay the course.

So I decided to give myself a challenge…7 weeks…not too long, not too short. But it needed to be audacious…something that gets me so far down the path that my chances of falling down a crevace will be few and far between. So my plan is to lose 3 pounds a week for the next 7 weeks through eating clean and exercise.

It’s a basic math problem. Calories in and calories out. Calories in? 1300 per day. Calories out? 1000 per day. Yeah. That’s gonna be the part that will take the strength and focus of a Warrior. I will need to run for an hour a day and do yoga for an hour a day to burn 1000 calories. If I commit to that, then I should see a 3 pound a week loss. 21 pounds total.

In some ways, I am loathe to write down numbers and be that specific because I don’t want you to think that I am soley focused on the numbers. Believe it or not, I’m not. I’m more focused on how that 21 pounds will translate to increased energy, less anxiety, more peace and harmony. More good days rather than bad. More days when I feel like a rock star!

And then I thought, wouldn’t it be fun to do this challenge with someone else? To find encouragement among others who are on the same path?

So I created a little ‘zine for this challenge and you can download it by clicking on the link below. Provided you have the free Adobe Acrobat, you should have no problems opening the pdf. I hope it’s helpful companion on your own journey to optimal health.

What’s Eating You 7 Week Challenge

