Tags

, , , ,

This recipe was inspired by my brother – he sent me his recipe and I just substituted some ingredients because I had it in the pantry and thought it would be a good add. Per usual, I use organic and/or local ingredients whenever possible.

Granola before baking...

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup red quinoa
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • a few tablespoons flax-seed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg (honestly, I don’t know how much I used – I just used the micro-plainer to add fresh nutmeg)
  • 1/2 c fresh orange juice
  • 3 tbsp grape seed oil
  • 1/8 c agave nectar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup assorted chopped dried fruit (mainly apricots, some dried cherries, and some raisins)

 

Method

  • Preheat oven to 300F.  Spray rimmed baking sheet with nonstick spray or line the sheet with parchment paper.
  • Mix oats, almonds, brown sugar, quinoa, flaxseed, cinnamon, and nutmeg in large bowl. 
  •  Bring OJ, oil, and syrup to a boil in small saucepan. Turn off and stir in vanilla.
  •  Drizzle OJ mixture over dry ingredients; toss to coat.  Spread granola evenly on baking sheet. 
  •  Bake granola until golden brown, stirring occasionally, about 50 minutes.  Divide fruit between sheets and toss to coat; bake granola 10 minutes longer. 

Let cool and store in an airtight container. If you don’t eat it up because it tastes so freaking good, it should last about a week.

I like to top my plain greek yogurt with a heaping 1/2 cup of the stuff (and a tbsp of chia seeds and possibly a thin sliced banana!). God knows what the nutrition information is. I think this is a good mix though – the quinoa and almonds will give a good amount of protein, the spices are beneficial. Yeah, I put some brown sugar in it but also used agave instead of maple syrup for a more balanced glycemic load. The dried fruit is going to give you some more sugar but also some fiber. The grape seed oil will give you a good, clean fat. I’d guess that a 1/4 cup is probably around 200 calories? If you decide to do the math on this, let me know! 😉

