Tags

, , , , ,

I used to make this all the time…back before I started eating real food. Back when I thought organics were ugly, small, and ridiculously expensive. (Hey! organics have come a LONG way in the last 20 years.)

Anyway, the last time I made this was on May 3rd, 2008. No, I don’t have that perfect recall memory that Marylou Henner has. I cooked the food for my commitment ceremony reception. Yes, I cooked all the food on that special day – but, I love to cook and it was a really small party sooooo…

Alright – the recipe…

Ingredients: Make them all organic – seriously, nothing that’s going into this salad should be conventional because it really is that easy and as cheap to eat better in this instance. AND all this stuff is in season right now.

  • Organic fusilli – I know I could have gone whole wheat but didn’t wanna! 🙂
  • Organic tomato, cucumber, onion, mushrooms, broccoli, and black olives
  • Organic chopped fresh herbs – I like thyme and parsley in this
  • Your favorite organic dressing or just use olive oil, lemon juice, dab of mustard, and some finely chopped herbs

Method:

Prep veggies. Chop ’em fine, peel ’em or not, and chop up a lot – we all need to eat more veggies (I gotta tell you – I LOVE my knife – it makes prep work so much easier with a beautifully balanced, very sharp knife! Thanks to my brother for the great Christmas gift!)

Bring a pot of water to a boil and add broccoli for 2 mins. Use a slotted spoon to lift out of pot and place into an ice bath (this is perfectly blanched broccoli).

Add pasta to boiling broccoli water. Stir and add a pinch of salt if you want.

 

 

 

When pasta is al dente, drain and let cool a little bit, then add to the bowl of chopped veg – drizzle on some dressing or olive oil – don’t go crazy, a little goes a long way. Add a few tablespoons, then stir it up and then add more if you need it.

Et voila, simple pasta salad. Serve a cup on top of some mixed organic baby greens. Toss on some crumbled feta or shredded chicken for some clean protein.

This is super easy to make and you really can make it your own. Try different pastas – shapes and flavors. Try different veggies – get what’s in season and local if possible. I should have added some blanched asparagus to this because it’s so abundant right now. Try different herbs – I tend to go fresh since I grow them but if you have a good dried herb, use it! My pasta salad usually tastes better after it’s had a chance to marinate. Will keep well in fridge, covered, for 4 days.

