Tags

, , , , , ,

Me turning 11

Thinking of all the moments that have led me to where I am today – moments that, when I was young, seemed to stretch to infinity but, in looking back, they have zipped by within a blink of an eye. The swiftness of the passing years is startling and serves as a reminder to be truly open to the present moment and to relish all that this life brings to me.

As each birthday has ticked past me I have embraced that liminal place between decades as an opportunity to redefine myself. I am in the process of discovering who I am at 48 and how that age defines me. Rather than focusing on what I want, I’d rather focus on what I do – now I move my body on a regular basis, I eat real food and am mindful of just how much I am eating. I meditate daily to manage my stress and I step out of my comfort zone all the time – just to see where it takes me. As I move closer to 50 – the half century mark – I feel more confident. In the words of Popeye, “I am what I am” and I’m okay with that.

As an aside – one of my favorite authors is Sandra Cisneros and she wrote one of my favorite stories about birthdays – I love how she thinks about age in this story. I wanted to share it with you – hope you like it.

I am 48 today. But I am also 47, 46, 45, 44, 43…30, 29, 28…and I am 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1.

